Relive The Iconic Apollo 11 Moon Landing Live On Your Computer

This article is from Do You Remember. Click the title to hop over there.

DoYouRemember? Nostalgia Lives Here

  • The Apollo 11 moon landing happened 50 years ago. 
  • Two websites teamed up to create a historic Livestream that allows visitors to watch the moon landing once again.   
  • In addition, you can learn where you need to go to watch the Livestream. 

 

Just a day over 50 years ago on July 16, 1969, humans first walked on the moon. The Apollo 11 moon landing was a very historic event in our history. To honor its 50th anniversary, two websites are coming together to Livestream the event once more. This could be very important for the younger generation who wasn’t around to see it happen 50 years ago.

Ben Feist from ApolloinRealTime.org and Space.com’s Simulation Curriculum are working together to create something magical. Ben along with Stephen Slater, an archivist, have put together Apollo 11 mission video, images, audio, and transcripts. As a result, this creates an incredible timeline of the events where astronauts Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, and Michael Collins went to the moon.

Learn where you can watch the incredible Livestream of the Apollo 11 moon landing

apollo 11 moon landing 50th anniversary
Apollo 11 / National Museum of the USAF – AF.mil

You can watch the Livestream on Space.com and ApolloinRealLife.org. According to Space.com, here are some of the key dates in the Apollo 11 moon landing. Similarly, did you keep track of this iconic event when it was happening 50 years ago?

Liftoff: July 16, 1969; 9:32 a.m. EDT (1332 GMT)
Lunar Orbit Arrival: July 19, 1969, 1:21 p.m. EDT (17:21 GMT)
Moon Landing: July 20, 4:17 p.m. EDT (2017 GMT)
Liftoff from the moon: July 21, 1969, 1:54 p.m. EDT (17:54 GMT)
Lunar Orbit Departure: July 22, 1969, 12:55 a.m. EDT (04:55 GMT)
Splashdown: July 24, 1969; 12:50 p.m. EDT (1650 GMT)

buzz aldrin footprint moon apollo 11
Buzz Aldrin footprint / Wikipedia

In addition, Simulation Curriculum has also compiled information about the mission. For instance, it allows viewers to track the Apollo 11 mission. They can also see where certain planets and stars were at that time. If you are interested in space and love learning about the Apollo 11 moon landing, you won’t want to miss any of the Livestream.

apollo 11 lunar lander
Lunar Lander / Wikipedia

According to Space.com, Seth Meyers (from Simulation Curriculum) said, “The historic Apollo missions are an indelible part of the American experience and psyche. Generations remember Neil Armstrong’s ‘one small step for man,’ and with the Apollo Mission data in Starry Night and SkySafari, millions of space enthusiasts will be able to vicariously experience these important space missions with precise, true-to-life simulations.”

Read on to the NEXT page to see how the National Air and Space Museum is honoring Apollo 11’s 50th anniversary as well!

The post Relive The Iconic Apollo 11 Moon Landing Live On Your Computer appeared first on DoYouRemember? – The Home of Nostalgia. Author, Lauren Stewart

Go to Source – Do You Remember

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.